Staff Directory

Office of Advancement

Robert H. Lurie Engineering Center
1221 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-2102

Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Phone: (734) 647-7040 | Fax: (734) 647-7045

Principal Gifts and Administration

Mike Drake
Senior Executive Director
Phone: (734) 647-7044 
Email: madrake@umich.edu
Assistant: Joanne Navarre 

Regional Development Programs

Anna Mann
Senior Director of Advancement
Phone:  (734) 763-8265
Email:  annamann@umich.edu
Assistant: Joanne Navarre 
Amanda Dempsey
Regional Director, Southeast Michigan
Phone: (734) 764-0868
Email: aslaybau@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Jason Gilmore
Regional Director, Pacific Northwest
Phone: (734) 936-3552
Email: gilmore@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Emily Godbold
Regional Director, Central States
Phone: (734) 615-7333
Email: eafogels@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Kris Good
Regional Director, Michigan and the Midwest
Phone: (734) 647-1124
Email: krisgood@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce
Erica Hamann
Regional Director, Bay Area
Phone: (734) 647-7097
Email: ehamann@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Adrianne Miller
Regional Director, Southeastern States and Illinois
Phone: (734) 647-7036
Email: adrianmi@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Bob Pierce 
Director of Major Gifts, East Coast
Phone:  (734) 764-7581
Email:  rbpierce@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Andy Steinhoff
Regional Director, Southwestern States
Phone: (734) 647-7050
Email: asteinho@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Jillian Tupper
Regional Director, Mid-Atlantic States
Phone: (734) 647-1571
Email: jilliat@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 

Planned Giving, Leadership Gifts, Annual Giving and Stewardship

Melanie Zauel
Senior Director of Advancement
Phone: (734) 647-7093
Email: mzauel@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Julie Christofferson
Director of Stewardship
Phone: (734) 647-7033
Email: jmchris@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Amber Connell
Associate Director of Annual Giving
Phone:  (734) 764-8288
Email:  amconnel@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Isslam Dia
Stewardship Officer Associate
Phone: (734) 763-7165
Email: imdia@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Jack Fuchsman
Department Major Giving Associate
Phone: (734) 647-7037
Email: TBD
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Mariana Garcia
IOE Department Major Giving Associate
Phone:  (734) 647-2765
Email:  gamarian@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright
Emily Jastrzembowski
Annual Giving Coordinator
Phone: (734) 647-1479
Email: ekrich@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Hannah McKenley
Manager of Stewardship Programs and Campaign Communications
Phone: (734) 936-0948
Email: hemcken@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright 
Megan Smania-Watts
ME Department Major Giving Associate
Phone:  (734) 647-3059
Email:  smaniam@umich.edu
Assistant:  Anne Wright

Advancement Operations

December Therrien
Operations Manager
Phone: (734) 647-7042
Email: dtherr@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359
Maddie Maviglia
Gift Processing Associate
Phone: (734) 647-7043
Email: mmavigli@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359
Colleen Pierce 
Administrative Partner
Phone:  (734) 764-4494
Email:  piercecp@umich.edu
Lisa Richardson
Administrative Partner
Phone: (734) 647-7049
Email: lisarich@umich.edu 
Ellie Snyder
Gift Processing Associate
Phone: (734) 615-1591
Email: ejsnyder@umich.edu 
Fax: (734) 615-1359
Betsey VanOrnum
Data Reporting Specialist
Phone: (734) 764-1715
Email: betsey@umich.edu
Anne Wright
Administrative Partner
Phone: (734) 647-7042
Email: annewrig@umich.edu

Resource Planning & Management – Advancement

Amanda Nephew
Senior Research Development Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7032
Email: anephew@umich.edu

Associate Dean for Research (ADR): Corporate, Government, Foundation and International Relations

Christine Muchanic
Senior Director, Research Relations
Phone: (734) 647-1644
Email: muchanic@umich.edu
Assistant: Colleen Root
Cheryl Donohoe
Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-1117
Email: cdonohoe@umich.edu
Beth Jakubowski
Research Proposal Manager
Phone: (734) 936-2106
Email: bethlj@umich.edu
Gregory Johnson
Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-9056
Email: gregorjo@umich.edu
Theresa Lempka
Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-2945
Email:  tlempka@umich.edu
Elaine Meinzer
Assistant Director, Research Development
Phone: (734) 763-3644
Email:  emeinzer@umich.edu
Joanne Navarre
Research Development Specialist
Phone: (734) 647-1579
Email: mjnavarr@umich.edu
Colleen Root
Senior Administrative Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7030
Email: ckroot@umich.edu
Richard Vanden Heuvel
Director, Research Development
Phone: (734) 647-7030
Email: hoovervh@umich.edu
Mike Williams
Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-1121
Email: mlwz@umich.edu

Send updates to Lisa Richardson at lisarich@umich.edu

Michigan Engineering Office of Advancement