Staff Directory

Office of Advancement

Robert H. Lurie Engineering Center
1221 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-2102

Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Phone: (734) 647-7040 | Fax: (734) 647-7045

Principal Gifts and Administration

Mike Drake
Senior Executive Director
Phone: (734) 647-7044 
Email: madrake@umich.edu
Assistant: Joanne Navarre 

Regional Development Programs

Doug Dubin
Regional Director, Michigan and Ohio Regions
Phone:  (734) 763-2992
Email:  ddubin@umich.edu
Assistant:  December Therrien 
Erica Hamann
Regional Director, Bay Area
Phone: (734) 647-7097
Email: ehamann@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Adrianne Miller
Regional Director, Southeastern States
Phone: (734) 647-7036
Email: adrianmi@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Amanda Nephew
Senior Research Development Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7032
Email: anephew@umich.edu 
Bob Pierce 
Regional Director, Northeastern States 
Phone:  (734) 764-7581
Email:  rbpierce@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Andy Steinhoff
Regional Director, Southwestern States
Phone: (734) 647-7050
Email: asteinho@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 

Planned Giving, Leadership Gifts, Annual Giving and Stewardship

Melanie Zauel
Senior Director of Advancement
Phone: (734) 647-7093
Email: mzauel@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Julie Christofferson
Director of Stewardship
Phone: (734) 647-7033
Email: jmchris@umich.edu
Amber Connell
Associate Director of Annual Giving
Phone:  (734) 764-8288
Email:  amconnel@umich.edu
Amanda Dempsey
Department Major Giving Associate
Phone:  (734) 764-0868
Email: aslaybau@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Luis EscareƱo
Department Major Giving Associate
Phone:  (734) 647-7037
Email: escareno@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce
Hannah McKenley
Manager of Stewardship Programs and Campaign Communications
Phone: (734) 936-0948
Email: hemcken@umich.edu

Advancement Operations

December Therrien
Operations Manager
Phone: (734) 647-7042
Email: dtherr@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359
Kim Joffe
Business Systems Analyst
Phone: (734) 615-1591
Email: kimlewis@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359
Colleen Pierce 
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Phone:  (734) 647-7040
Email:  piercecp@umich.edu
Lisa Richardson
Executive Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7049
Email: lisarich@umich.edu 
Betsey VanOrnum
Data Reporting Specialist
Phone: (734) 764-1715
Email: betsey@umich.edu
Tiffanny Walsh
Gifts and Reporting Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7043
Email: tiffanny@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359 

Corporate, Government, Foundation and International Relations

Christine Muchanic
Senior Director, Research Relations
Phone: (734) 647-1644
Email: muchanic@umich.edu
Assistant: Joanne Navarre 
Gregory Johnson
Associate Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-9056
Email: gregorjo@umich.edu
Theresa Lempka
Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-2945
Email:  tlempka@umich.edu
Joanne Navarre
Academic/Research Program Officer
Phone: (734) 647-1579
Email: mjnavarr@umich.edu
Richard Vanden Heuvel
Director, Research Development
Phone: (734) 647-7030
Email: hoovervh@umich.edu

Send updates to Lisa Richardson at lisarich@umich.edu

Michigan Engineering Office of Advancement