Staff Directory

  • Alumni Homecoming tailgate
    Michigan Engineering Homecoming Weekend - Reconnect with old classmates and faculty, chat with student teams, and cheer on Michigan to victory!

Office of Advancement

Robert H. Lurie Engineering Center
1221 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-2102

Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Advancement staff are currently working remotely due to COVID

Principal Gifts and Administration

Fax: (734) 647-7045

Mike Drake
Interim Executive Director
Phone: (734) 647-7044 
Email: madrake@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 

Regional Development Programs

Fax: (734) 647-7045

Doug Dubin
Regional Director, Michigan and Ohio Regions
Phone:  (734) 763-2992
Email:  ddubin@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Erica Hamann
Regional Director, Bay Area
Phone: (734) 647-7097
Email: ehamann@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Adrianne Miller
Regional Director, Southeastern States
Phone: (734) 647-7036
Email: adrianmi@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Amanda Nephew
Senior Research Development Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7032
Email: anephew@umich.edu 
Bob Pierce 
Regional Director, Northeastern States 
Phone:  (734) 764-7581
Email:  rbpierce@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Andy Steinhoff
Regional Director, Southwestern States
Phone: (734) 647-7050
Email: asteinho@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 

Planned Giving, Leadership Gifts, Annual Giving and Stewardship

Fax: (734) 647-7045

Melanie Zauel
Senior Director of Advancement
Phone: (734) 647-7093
Email: mzauel@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Julie Christofferson
Senior Stewardship Officer
Phone: (734) 647-703
Email: jmchris@umich.edu
Amber Connell
Associate Director of Annual Giving
Phone:  (734) 764-8288
Email:  amconnel@umich.edu
Amanda Dempsey
Department Major Giving Associate
Phone:  (734) 764-0868
Email: aslaybau@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Hannah McKenley
Associate Stewardship Officer
Phone: (734) 936-0948
Email: hemcken@umich.edu

Advancement Operations

December Therrien
Operations Manager
Phone: (734) 647-7042
Email: dtherr@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359
Kim Joffe
Business Systems Analyst
Phone: (734) 615-1591
Email: kimlewis@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359
Colleen Pierce 
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Phone:  (734) 647-7040
Email:  piercecp@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 647-7045
Lisa Richardson
Executive Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7049
Email: lisarich@umich.edu 
Fax: (734) 647-7045
Betsey VanOrnum
Data Reporting Specialist
Phone: (734) 764-1715
Email: betsey@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 647-7045
Tiffanny Walsh
Gifts and Reporting Assistant
Phone: (734) 647-7043
Email: tiffanny@umich.edu
Fax: (734) 615-1359 

Corporate, Government, Foundation and International Relations

Fax: (734) 647-7045

Mike Drake
Executive Director of Research
Phone: (734) 647-7044
Email: madrake@umich.edu
Assistant:  Lisa Richardson 
Gregory Johnson
Associate Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-9056
Email: gregorjo@umich.edu
Theresa Lempka
Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (734) 647-2945
Email:  tlempka@umich.edu
Christine Muchanic
Director, International Relations
Phone: (734) 647-1644
Email: muchanic@umich.edu
Assistant:  Colleen Pierce 
Joanne Navarre
Academic/Research Program Officer
Phone: (734) 647-1579
Email: mjnavarr@umich.edu
Richard Vanden Heuvel
Director, Research Development
Phone: (734) 647-7030
Email: hoovervh@umich.edu

Send updates to Lisa Richardson at lisarich@umich.edu